I had a great Mother’s Day. Our church meets on Saturday night, so we had all day Sunday as a family. It was wonderful. I didn’t want to cook on Mother’s Day (I don’t want to cook most days), so it was a quick decision to go out for breakfast. It was completely up to me. After making clear that I wanted to go someplace new, and notsomewhere we always go, we talked about all our options. With resolve firmly in place to try someplace new, I settled on Food for Thought. Why reinvent the wheel, y’all? If it’s good, it’s good. No need to try something new.

After breakfast we drove around looking for a park that a friend had posted about that had looked amazing. While the drive was beautiful it didn’t take long to realize we were not on the same page. Unbeknownst to us, Matt had one park in mind and I had another (this friend had posted about several). Ultimately we were both right. Hear that, babe? I was right too. Eventually we found the park and had a great time.

After the park we headed home for naptime.

While the boys were napping, I reviewed Matt’s paper for school that was due that day. Dream come true. Check that off my Mother’s Day Bucket List. I did get to sit out in the sun for part of it though. So that kind of made up for it. Except for when the Apocalypse occurred. Otherwise known as The Attack of the Wasps. That quickly brought me back inside with lots of Evil Thoughts and Yells thrown at them for good measure.

Once the boys got up, we met my parents at U-Swirl. Free fro-yo for mamas! Holla’. For that I do not have Photo Documentation, but it happened, trust me.

After that we made a quick trip to the mall and then headed home. It was a great day. I love just getting to hang out with my family with no agenda. Nowhere to be, nothing scheduled.

We live very near a major river and we’ve found this park that’s about a 10 minute bike ride from our house that leads to lots of trails along the river. Micah’s very favorite thing is throwing rocks into the river, so yesterday when Matt got home from work we made it a family trip. We had planned to take him Sunday but didn’t get the chance, so we made it happen yesterday.

Please don’t email me and tell me how awful I look in this picture. I know, okay. Focus on Asher. Asher. Focus.
Can you believe this is a bike ride from our house?? There’s Micah doing his thing – throwing rocks to his heart’s content.
Me and my buddy.

We’ve been having perfect weather and we’ve tried to make the most of it everyday. I love having this kind of outdoor activity so close. It’s a great way to end the day as a family. Bike ride, hiking, river, maybe or maybe not some ice cream.

Hope everyone had a great weekend!