I’ve been a little bothered by a couple of things in my last wisdom post.

First, I think I may have inadvertently made it sound as if age and experience havenothing to do with wisdom. What I really mean is that ultimately wisdom comes from God, but much of it can also happen through age and experience as we walk with him. I just meant to say that simply getting old doesn’t guarantee wisdom. I’ve long said that I can’t wait to get old and be wiser. I just know that I don’t have to wait foronly that to have wisdom in my life. I’ve long prayed that God would give me godly wisdom (which is first pure, peaceable, gentle, reasonable, full of mercy and good fruits, unwavering, without hypocrisy – James 3:17) that’s beyond my years and own personal experience. I desperately want to be wise and not foolish.

Really that’s the only thing that bothered me. I feel better already.

I have this weird obsession with Attachment Parenting. And I know, I know, all youBabyWisers are removing me from your subscriptions. I can handle it. I’ve lived through worse. Like 6 days without Dairy Queen. I can survive this.

I don’t know what it is. The whole natural birth, baby-wearing, co-sleeping (ok, not the co-sleeping) way of doing things is really fascinating. Obviously there’s so much more to it than that but of what little I know, those stand out.

I was once a staunch BWer, but after seeing the legalistic fruit it bore in my life and the little joys it robbed me of, like *gasp* rocking my precious babe to sleep every once in a while, I was done with it. I’ve found a happy medium throughBabyWhisperer. Similar concept as BW but erring on the side of Life and Freedom and Happiness.

Really that’s about all I have to say about that. Not too much Deep happening in these parts.

I should probably do a Child Update, since it’s been a while.

Micah, you are now 2 years and 3 months old. You are talking up a storm and repeat everything we say, which is so hilarious. You are super tall for your age, which makes you look older than you really are. You are a huge Daddy’s boy which brings great delight to my heart. I love the special relationship you and your daddy have. Your favorite thing in the entire world is to go on a “bak wide” to see the ducks and “bearwes” and throw “wocks” with Daddy. You both come back so happy and full of stories, which are always hilarious to hear.

You’ve been a great sleeper forever, except for this recent thing of getting up between 7 and 7:30. Not cool.

You’ve never been a picky eater, but we’ve found if we want you to eat mostly everything on your plate, we have to wait to put other things on the table until you’re done, like fruits and “ups” and “salda” (chips and salsa).

You’re still very attached to us when we’re out and about and have occasional meltdowns if we leave you with others, but I think we’re slowly but surely getting past that.

We love you so much it’s ridiculous. Oftentimes after we’ve put you to bed, one or both of us will mention how much we miss you and go over the stories from that day that made us laugh. We delight deeply in you and find great joy in getting to do things that serve no other purpose than simply making you happy. Sometimes Daddy and I passive aggressively battle over who gets to be the one to make you happy. Like who got to give you the chocolate cupcake today. I let Daddy win, mostly because I love seeing him love you.

Asher, you are now 8 1/2 months old. You are still a roly-poly ball of jiggly goodness. Just thinking about you makes me smile. You are one happy, contented baby. Except for when you’re not. And then you are one back-arching, arm and leg-thrashing, screaming ball of happiness. Except for the happiness part. 98% of the time, you’re happy and easy-going. 2% of the time your Dr. Jekyll escapes his confines and makes his way to the Outerworld. Yikes. But it’s usually easily solvable with some milk and/or bedtime.

You are still breast-feeding full time, and as of only 3 days ago, started taking a bottle. I’m kind of lazy on giving you solids, so you usually only eat solids 1-2 times a day, lunch and/or dinner. You are a great sleeper. You’ve mostly dropped your 10:30ish feeding, so you often sleep from 7 to 8.

*and all the angels broke out in the Hallelujah Chorus*

You take two naps a day, anywhere from 1-3 hours. Sometimes you get up after 45 minutes and I terrify myself that this is our new normal, and then your next nap you sleep for 2 hours and all is well again. But my Type A likes to tie myself up in freakish knots of anxiety until Reality proves me wrong again.

You and your brother get along great. Micah is very lovey towards you, although we do have times of having to intervene and remind him to be nice, gentle, kind, etc. Typical kid things, I’m sure.

Whew, I think that’s the gist of it. All caught up we are. I leave you now with proof of the Cutest Kids in the World.

 

