First, some very important matters.

I think you’ll be comforted to know that I have a fairly limited wardrobe.

(Why that would comfort you is beyond me, but I don’t make the rules, I just follow them.)

My weekly wardrobe rotates between approximately 3 outfits. Blue fleece sweater with jeans. Black fleece sweater with jeans. Other blue fleece sweater with jeans. And if I’m feeling particularly crazy I’ll mix it up. Grey shirt and fleece sweater with jeans. And if I’m feeling even crazier, I’ll throw on a pair of earrings.

On a routine basis I will stare into my closet full of clothes and cry aloud (much to Matt’s great delight), I don’t have anything to wear! 

And then I’ll pick out a fleece sweater and jeans and all is well again.

On a related note, I dreamed last night that I was in an awful car accident because of snowy weather conditions. In real life right now our heater is set to 70. It’s like I can’t escape the nightmares. My thoughts are dark towards all of you that walk in warmth.

Micah fell down a flight of stairs two days ago. It was terrifying since I saw the whole thing happen. And being one second too late is still too late. He’s got a bruise the side of Indiana on his forehead to show for it. Poor baby.

I met a friend for coffee last night and it was wonderful to catch up. It feels so good to be known, doesn’t it? One of the most comforting things about the Lord to me is how known I am by him. I don’t have to explain myself or figure myself out or wade through difficult explanations.

“You know when I sit down and when I rise up; you discern my thoughts from afar.
You search out my path and my lying down and are acquainted with all my ways.
Even before a word is on my tongue, behold, O Lord, you know it all together.”
Psalm 139:2-4

Sometimes I simply say, Lord, I’m hurt/frustrated/angry/afraid and I’m not even sure why. I think I know but I don’t know how to put it into words. Thank you that you know exactly what I mean and understand it more than I do. 

Isn’t that great that we can do that with the Lord? I read the most amazing thing in my study yesterday.

1st Thessalonians 5:17 says, “Pray without ceasing.”

Okay, how’s that for a light burden? Reason 5,472 to feel like I’m not getting it right.

No, no, no. First, I have to continually remind myself that my purpose in life is not to get it “right.” It’s to walk with the Lord, to know him. 2nd Corinthians 3:18 tells me that as I gaze upon him (fixate on him) then I am transformed into his likeness. Not when I check things off my Spiritual To-Do List.

Have you ever been around a contagious person? They have the flu…next day you wake up with fire in your limbs and hatred in your heart.

Or, you’re around someone who is happy, winsome, funny, and you find yourself smiling more often, perhaps even making a joke, feeling a little less sad.

As we spend time with the Lord and fill our minds and heart with his Word, we began to catch it. So this idea of praying continually is not meant to be a burden. In fact, listen to what my study says.

This word (“continually”) was used in the Greek world to refer to the lingering persistency of a hacking cough. “Just as a person with a hacking cough is not always audibly coughing though the tendency to cough is always there, so the Christian who prays without ceasing is not always praying audibly and yet prayer is always the attitude of his heart and life.”

Now this I can relate with. Hacking cough. Prayer. Yes.

Oh, the comforts of knowing Christ. Being known. Continual communion. Peace. Forgiveness. New life. New hope. Purpose.

May you find new life in Him.

