I am the worst daughter ever. I didn’t get my mom a card or flowers. I didn’t get my second mom a card or flowers (I’d like to believe that Matt shares the blame on that one). It’s not because we weren’t thinking of them or even because we haven’t talked to them. I talk to my mom all the time. It’s just because I am the worst Mailer ever. If it involves the Post Office, more than likely it ain’t getting there.

Unless it’s a new heart that somebody in critical condition is waiting for. And in that case, that’s never actually happened to me, so… I’ll repeat what I said earlier: It ain’t getting there. Especially on-time. That actually never happens.

But even if I had sent a card, I would have still wanted to dedicate this post to each of them.

So here goes.

To my mom (mama):
I literally just sat here, my hands poised over the keyboard waiting for adequate words to come. I don’t think they’re there. How do I compose letters and words to convey what I feel towards you. You are the best mom ever. I think you’re amazing. I’ve often heard of tension and strife that exists between mother and daughter and I literally cannot relate one tiny iota. There have definitely been times when I’m sure you would have like to have killed me (say like between the ages of 14 and 16), or at least tied my tongue in a thousand knots and forbid me from saying one more contentious, puberty-inspired word. But you were never reactive towards me; you always took my hysterics in stride and unfailingly lavished me with love and kindness.
You have the most wonderful character and attractive personality that I’ve ever known. Everyone who meets you loves you. The first thing out of their mouths is how strikingly beautiful you are, and the next (once they’ve had a chance to talk with you for approximately 4 1/2 minutes) is how incredibly sweet and kind you are. You blow my mind with how selfless and giving you are. Just being in your presence makes me want to be a kinder, gentler, more gracious woman.
I love you so much. So, so much. Thank you for being my mom, and for being the best one I could ask for.
I love you.

To my second mother,
I could not have asked for a better mother-in-law. How did I get so blessed to not only have an amazing natural mother, but I also got to inherit an amazing second mother? You raised the most incredible man. At times I think I could not love Matt more, and then I discover a whole new depth to him, and I fall more deeply in love. Thank you for giving birth to and raising a wonderful, wonderful man.
I love who you are, I love being with you. I love the sound of your laughter, and the way you tell stories. I love that I have never felt in competition with you, but we get to love the same man, just from different roles. I love that Matt loves you so much, and that he says on a regular basis, “I miss my mom.” You know what? I miss her too.

I hope that both of you know how deeply loved and missed you are. We would have traded anything to get to spend this special day with you. As you go about your day, keep remembering that we are missing you, loving you, talking about you, and praying for you this day.

Love,
me

